Is Brown Rice Vegan?

Rice is a staple food and fits into all diet types. However, high consumption of white rice may be unsafe. To clarify, white rice has a high glycemic index and may cause a spike in blood sugar. It is for this reason, that diabetics are advised to take brown rice which has a lower glycemic index.

Brown rice is also a great choice for you if you are on a vegan diet.

Is brown rice vegan?

Since you are reading this article, it means you want to find out if brown rice is vegan. The simple answer to that is yes. In fact, any rice is vegan.

Rice comes from grasses. Grasses are plants and therefore rice is vegan! This includes brown rice, white rice, red rice, basmati, and black rice, just to name a few. 

However, if you are trying to stay vegan, then you need to watch out for the kind of rice recipes you eat. 

Although rice is often served relatively plainly, as a side dish, it is also frequently combined with other ingredients and flavorings. This means, even if you use brown rice to make rice pudding, the finished dish isn’t vegan if you add dairy or other non-vegan ingredients.

Above all, I am glad to say, all rice is vegan friendly, however, you should read about some environmental factors that may affect the quality of the rice.

Is brown rice wholegrain?

Yes, brown rice is wholegrain! In other words, it contains all parts of the grain. However, white rice, has had it’s bran and germ removed.


This is the outermost layer in rice.  The hull is highly fibrous but not edible. Thus, it is always extracted during processing. The goal is to eat healthily and anything going against that will be removed. 


Unlike the hull, the bran is edible. It is safe to say that there is no brown rice without the bran. During food processing, the bran is left if the intention is to produce brown rice. Bran contains antioxidants, protein, oil, and minerals.  


It is large with a white interior of the rice kernel. This white kernel includes starch, protein, minerals, and vitamins. Apart from brown rice, other types of rice begin to be manufactured from the endosperm stage.

The germ (embryo) 

The germ makes up about 2% of the weight of a paddy rice kernel and can sprout into a new plant if allowed to grow. Its components include oils, vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, and protein. During milling, the germ is removed, oftentimes resulting in an indented shape at one end of the milled rice kernel.

What type of rice should a vegan eat?

All types of rice are edible for vegans. Vegans have a wide range of choices when it comes to rice. You could decide to consume white rice, brown rice, basmati rice, and other types of rice. Rest assured that whichever you choose to eat contains fiber but the question should be is the fiber enough for your diet?

Brown rice has more fiber than its counterparts, particularly the presence of the bran in it which is absent in most types of rice.  

Brown rice is healthier and is preferred by people who are conscious of their health. However, it takes a longer time to cook than white rice but it is healthier.

What type of brown rice should I buy? 

There are different brands of brown rice available but how can you be certain of the right one to buy?  Here are some brands you should consider

Jasmine brown rice

Talk about brown rice with a fine texture and nice fragrance, Jasmine brown rice is available for you. However, Jasmine rice is not 100% organic. 

Nishiki brown rice

Nishiki brown rice is known for being an affordable brand. It is original without much processing effect. Thus, it still has most of its natural components intact. However, if you are trying to get a drier rice recipe, Nishiki might not be your best bet. 

Lundberg Organic California Brown Rice

Lundberg is 100% organic and gluten-free. If you are diabetic, Lundberg brown rice can still be part of your diet.  There are no cons with regard to this brand of brown rice. 

How is brown rice different from other types of rice?

Brown rice still has vital parts of the nutrients intact. Just as stated above, brown rice is whole grain. Only the hull is removed when processing the brown rice. The remaining part of the rice is left. The presence of the bran gives the brown rice its color. For white rice, more than 80% of the bran is removed during processing.  

Interesting vegan recipes to make with brown rice

Eating one type of food all the time can bore you out but you know what? You can always spice things up. So, brown rice can be your everyday meal:

This brown rice pasta with broccoli and kale can be your go-to recipe for family gatherings plus it is very simple to make. 

You could step this …. delicacy down with any drink of your choice.

What better way to be spontaneous with brown rice than to make this brown rice spaghetti with oregano and olive sauce. Not only is it delicious, but it is also nutritious.

Certainly, you would love to treat yourself to these great delicacies.

Health benefits of Brown rice 

brown rice on wood

Weight management

If you are looking to control and shed some weight, consider adding brown rice to your diet. 

Prevents diabetes- Unlike the other types of rice that trigger the sugar and could be catalysts for diabetes, this rice prevents diabetes. 

Gives energy

Talk of energy-giving foods, brown rice is one. You certainly need energy for all your day-to-day activities and brown rice should be your best bet. 

Related posts

Mary Rose
Latest posts by Mary Rose (see all)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *