Gluten-free Gin: What Gin Is Gluten-free?

Sometimes you just want to relax or chill with friends over a bottle of alcohol or gin. Other times, you may want to add a little bit of spice to your foods by adding gin into your desserts, mousses, pasta, and even iced treats. However, the restriction of a gluten-free diet can make all these frustrating. 

Is Gin gluten-free?

Gin is typically made from a mix of grains like wheat, rye, and barley, but they are still thought to be gluten-free because of the distillation process.  Also, this process vaporizes the pure alcohol and separates it from the non-alcoholic components of the grain mixture. 

It is important to know that the harmful proteins in the grains are removed through this process. Therefore, the process makes most gins gluten-free.

Despite this, people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity still react to gin. As a result of this, the Celiac Support Association advises those with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity to drinking only alcohol, beverages, or gins that are not made from gluten grains. 

9 Gluten-free Gin To Try

Larios Rose

This gluten-free gin is soft and delicate on the palate. The warm taste of the strawberry flavor greets you warmly when you sip, followed by the flavor of fresh roses, wild juniper, and citrus.

Larios Rose is made with wild Juniper, strawberries, soft roses, and citrus. So, if you want to relax with friends and family beside the beach on a sunny Sunday afternoon, this gluten-free gin is sure to add some magic to the moment.

Hendrick’s Gin 

Hendrick's gluten-free gin

Hendrick’s gluten-free gin is made with roses, cucumber, and supported by no less than 11 botanicals from the four corners of the world. Also, you can read more about their production process here

More so, it is vegan-friendly! I have trusted friends who swear that having this gin with rosemary and a slice of orange is a great way to give yourself a good treat.  I am ordering some soon for myself and I will let you know how it goes!

Manchester Gin 

Manchester Gin (Gluten-free)

You will find a range of delectable gins here like raspberry-infused gin, wild spirit, overboard, hacienda, blackberry-infused, and Manchester spirit. 

In addition, manchester gluten-free gin is one of the most awarded gins. Their gins are made with local dandelion, burdock root, and other specially sourced botanicals including lemon, orange, ground almond, and liquor rice.

Liverpool Gin

Liverpool Gin is a premium organic gin made using only pure certified organic botanicals, producing a highly distinctive, aromatic drink. Therefore, it has a crystalline appearance. 

Liverpool gins are my favourites, so, I have tried almost all their gins. However, my favorite is the Liverpool Rose Petals Gin.

Besides, this gin is best enjoyed over ice with tonic according to their website. I agree!

Tanqueray London Dry Gin

Tanqueray london dry gin is best enjoyed with a tonic and a wedge of lime.

The Infusionist Passionfruit liqueur

The Infusionist is a line of small-batch gin liqueurs from Aldi. They are lovingly distilled in only small batches. Also, Passionfruit Gin Liqueur is fruity, rich, and wonderful as a summer cocktail. It is perfect as a dessert drink, or poured over crushed ice.

Frequently asked questions

Got some questions bothering you about gin? You may find some of your answers here.

How many calories does gin have?

A classic gin contains approximately 60 calories in a 25ml shot of 40% ABV gin. flavored gins contain more calories. (Most labels will provide nutritional details)

Does gin contain sugar?

Classic gins contain no notable amounts of sugar after the distillation process, some flavored gin contain sugar. Old Tom Gins’ are a traditional, sweetened style of gin which are typically sweetened with sugar, honey, or through aging in barrels.

Two health benefits of gin

Healthier skin

The berries used in making gin contain antioxidants, this helps your skin look healthier and brighter.

Prevents bloating and UTIs

Gin could help fight urinary tract infections. Firstly, the juniper berries used in making gins are diuretic. This increases your trips to the bathroom and prevents water retention.

Also, when you urinate more often, toxins and bacteria that are linked to infections are flushed out, and that keeps your health.

More gluten-free ideas to inspire you

Mary Rose
Latest posts by Mary Rose (see all)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *